Books to Read if you like a Good Cry

I’m excited to start a new recommendation series on my blog! This series of book recommendations goes beyond recommending a genre, but recommending a theme, feeling, mood, trope, etc. If you are interested in a specific genre and more, you can check out this page of my recommendations.

But, If you are ever in the mood for a good cry and reading a book that really tugs on your heart strings, check out…

Leo (Preston Brothers #3) by Jay McLean

A coming of age story from from two individuals who are a struggling to find where they belong, but learn they might just belong together. When you are reading, just when you think everything is starting to come together, another wrench is thrown into the mix. Will secrets and circumstance tear them apart or can they prevail?

Trigger warnings include eating disorders.

My Review.

When the Time is Right by M. Mabie

Can these best friends survive their feelings for each other. Both Hudson and Alexis have dealt with more than their fair of hardships in life and just when you think everything is meant to be, timing proves to not be on their side. Can they persevere, or was it just not meant to be?

My Review.

A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Solider by Ishmael Beah

The true story is Ishmael, a young boy trying to survive unimaginable violence and civil war in Rwanda. Through the eyes of a 12 year old, forced to become a boy solider and lose his innocence and gentle heart to murder, guns, drugs, and more. Read his story and how he made it out of hell and created a life for himself.

Trigger Warnings include violence, murder, rape, drugs.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Liesel is a young girl living in Nazi Germany during World War II. After watching her brother die and being sent to live with her foster family, she begins her love affair with books, especially those forbidden by the Reich. Told by a unique narrator that you never expect; Liesel tries to survive these dangerous time.

Trigger warnings include death.

Marley and Me: Life and Love With the World’s Worst Dog by John Grogan

A family is not complete without a dog. Read the true tales of Marley, a family’s yellow lab who was mischief in dog form; eating drywall, stealing undies, and crashing into everyone’s life. Laugh and cry both with and at Marley’s shenanigans.

Thanks for reading! Do you guys have any books that really got your water works going?

Stay tuned for more of this series coming soon!

Published by the_travelling_reader

Book and Travel blog. I am an avid reader who enjoys many different genres including fiction, fantasy, mystery, thriller, science fiction, nonfiction, and more. I have spent the past few years living and travelling around the world and I want to share my experience with you! This blog combines the best of both worlds.

9 thoughts on “Books to Read if you like a Good Cry

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: