Books to Read if you like Dystopian

My “Books to Read if you like” series continues! This series of book recommendations goes beyond recommending a genre, but a theme, feeling, mood, trope, etc. If you are interested in some of my past recommendations, you can check out this page on my blog.

But, If you are ever in the mood for dystopian, check out…

Paroxysm Effect series by Ashleigh Reynolds

This is some Black Mirror craziness! Chips are put into people to suppress ‘bad’ emotions, and amplify ‘good’ ones, but it gets out of control. The world goes to chaos and Gemi finds herself rescued by some military personnel, but everything is not as it seems.

Everything Under the Sun by Jessica Redmerski

This is probably one of the best, most emotional books I have ever read. Civilization has fallen and the story follows two individuals who are having a very different end of the world experience.

Atticus is doing whatever he can to survive, including being a soldier in a city where he despises all of the rules and violence. Thais lived for years with her family off of the grid, until her town is attacked and she has to flee. They have an unlikely meeting and an unlikely relationship develops.

Trigger Warnings: rape and violence

The Tainted (Dominion of the Ash #1) by Frost Kay

Ugh, this series is not done so Frost Kay, hurry up and finish it please! The story is post apocalyptical when a man made virus got out of hand and devastated the world and changed peoples DNA. The plot follows Hazel, who thought she was safe behind the walls in her community, but the most dangerous things are not what they seem.

My Review: Book #3

Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick

What is the Allied forces lost WWII and the United States was split with Japan controlling the West and Hitler’s Germany controlling the East? Well this book is all the horrors that you can imagine if that actually occurred. It follows multiple different characters in a variety of places and positions in society. It’s absolutely fascinating to read.

The Matriarch (Women of the Dust #1) by Annabelle McInnes

Yay girl power! The Matriarch, Yolanda, leader of an all women’s tribe will do what ever she can to make sure her people survive the sanctions forced upon them. She finds an unlikely ally in her enemies son, The Hammer, where they embark on a journey for their people. I can’t wait for book #2!

My Review.

Thank you for reading! What Dystopian books do you love? Stay tuned for more in the series of recommendations!

Published by the_travelling_reader

Book and Travel blog. I am an avid reader who enjoys many different genres including fiction, fantasy, mystery, thriller, science fiction, nonfiction, and more. I have spent the past few years living and travelling around the world and I want to share my experience with you! This blog combines the best of both worlds.

4 thoughts on “Books to Read if you like Dystopian

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: